Totally Thai @ The Scott Garden, Old Klang Road

Posted: May 26, 2013 in @ Old Klang Road
Tags: , ,

I have been missing in action, it was a combination of reasons which include : work, have not been eating out, GE13, Candy Crush, floaters in my eye, the dog ate my keyboard  and the major one – plain laziness.

Putting my laziness behind me — I wonder why people put things behind them, I have to put it far far away, not just behind, what about putting my laziness apart from me for maybe 20 km- I think that sounds better and at least I have a better head start and that lousy ‘laziness’ would need to work hard to catch up with me again.., I digress..back to food, seriously..

I have been to The Scott Garden a few times, mainly to visit Tesco. And I always find the set up kinda confusing, I think I have to put the set up at The Scott Garden 20km behind me too.. anyway, managed to find our way to the destination : Totally Thai located at the 1st floor ( if it is of any help- this is on the same floor and the same wing as CIMB)

totally thaiIt was ~ 2:45pm on a Sunday afternoon—way way past our usual lunch hour, and so we were famished. There were about 4 other tables filled with patrons. We decide to go for Pamelo salad, kerabu fried rice, tomyam noodles and for dessert- Totally Thai ice kacang.

menu2

The place was spacious and cozy, high wooden ceilings, classical music floating in the air..setting

We were expecting the pamelo salad,  being an appertizer,  to be served first but nope, the Karabu fried rice / Khao phat mangsawirat (RM10.95) came first. I wasn’t very sure what to expect and I thought I remember the lady who took our order saying that the rice was fried with basil (this was what sold it for me) and other vegetables. What arrived at our table was fried rice plus shreds of mango, onions and some chili padi on the side. We attacked this like hungry hyenas minus the crazy laughs.  Taste-wise, this is so-so, beyond some saltiness, can’t say that there were another layer of exciting taste, luckily the accompanying sambal added some flavour to this overall rather bland flavour.fried rice

For tomyam noodles, we get to choose the type of noodles ( mee, mee hoon etc ) and whether one would prefer chicken or seafood tomyam, we opted for mee hoon and seafood tomyam- and not so spicy, thank you velimuchie. The tomyam noodles were RM10.95/bowl. Tastewise, this fared better than the fried rice, there were some refreshing fragrance from lemongrass but still I would have expected more flavour from tomyam. The seafood included prawns, squids and fish which were rather fresh and the portions were generous.tomyam noodles

After attacking the two dishes, there was a long pause, a very long pause…then the ice kacang came, ehhh !! where is the pamelo salad ??

The ice kacang came in a rather overly ‘melted’ state..as if it was left for a long long time before being served..akin to iceberg after exposure to many hours of global warming  Or maybe that is the way that the Totally Thai Ice kacang ( RM6.95) should be served ? The ice shavings were coarse, or not as fine as I would like them to be. Apart from the usual  corn, cendol, cincau, red bean..the only not so usual content were a few cubes of canned mixed fruits ( which by the way,  didn’t taste too fresh).ice kacang

After another long long pause… the pamelo salad finally made its appearance .Tthe salad was served with a few pieces of prawns, this was a bit soggy- the taste was sourish like the raw papaya somtam version in taste rather than the ‘drier’ mango salad. This was ok, but we would have enjoyed it more if this was an appetizer rather than having to eat it after we have desserts. Pamelo salad somehow tasted slightly off after a sweet dessert. pamelo salad

Service was rather slow although there weren’t that many tables that needed to be served. Overall, a so so meal ,

Location :
Lot 1-38, 1st Floor The Scott Garden
289 Jalan Klang Lama,
58100 Kuala Lumpur.
Telephone: 0379821143
Business hour: 12.00pm – 11.00pm

Leave a Reply

