Pastis Cafe @ MidValley Megamall

Posted: October 16, 2012 in @ Midvalley
Tags: , , ,

I frequent Mid Valley but mostly at the ‘average income’ section of the Megamall, i.e. the Jusco Aeon, Carrefour side. To me, The Gardens section of the Megamall is for the rich and famous, where the shops bear unpronounceable names and come with abominable price tags  posh and where doormen with white gloves open their doors to the privileged few.. Anyway, the makan trip this time took us to Pastis Cafe, which is on the ‘rich man’ side of the Midvalley Megamall, Pastic Cafe is not difficult to locate, it is at the Ground Floor beside Isetan.

The RM20 deal was for  a 3 course meal : starter +  main course of either : Lamb Shank on Bed of Potatoes / Dory Fish Orange-Flavoured with Vegetable and Butter Rice or Honey Grilled Chicken with Butter Rice + dessert + free flow of drinks. One could sit on the ‘terrace’ or to sit inside the cafe where it is more quiet and private.

We chose to have our meal at the inside of  the cafe which was cozy  and comfy. For main course, we decide to forfeit the chicken and chose to have lamb shanks and Dory fish. For drinks- which was free flow- we had to get our own at the counter, the selection include : apple juice, water, iced tea and air bandung. The drinks vats weren’t labeled, so we had to get the waiter’s help to tell us what they were. In the picture below the vats are below the gigantic flower arrangement …

It was kinda interesting that they serve air bandung as I didn’t expect a  ‘western style’ cafe to serve something so local. Anyway, for information purpose, I did a www search for  ‘air bandung’ and extract from Wikipedia: Air bandung consists of milk flavoured with rose cordial syrup, giving a pink colour. (ok, this info I thing we know lah ).  The drink is an adaptation of rose milk served in India. In the Malay language. the term bandung means “pairs”, while sirap means syrup and air means “water”.More broadly, bandung refers to anything that is mixed from other ingredients or comes in pairs. Despite the name, there is no connection to the city of Bandung in Indonesia and the drink actually cannot be found there. “Bandung” was available as early as the 1960s where it was favored by the Malay community. Oh…I always thought that the drink had something to do with Bandung Indonesia..now I know I should not think so often…

Starters was mushroom soup, which had the expected mushroomy texture and taste..this was not too bad..

My makan companion  for the day commented on the table setting —‘.the setting is nice but why do they use white paper to line the table on top of the table cloth’  ..well, indeed ! I guess it makes life easier for one to clear the table and clean the table cloth..but this deducted 1,000 points from the presentation point of view lorrr..

When the lamb shank arrived, we were impressed by the portion..wow…Pastis is generous !  The meat was tender, succulent and didn’t have that gamey smell, this was nice..

I had the Dory fish orange-flavoured with vegetable and butter rice, the orange flavour was a bit too mild to cover the slightly fishy taste of the dory. The meat was too soft and fine- maybe this is the characteristic of dory- I guess that is why I still like my fried kembung fish.  The side dish combination of pickled carrot, tomatoes and zucchini was average lah, I like my rice dry and hard so I didn’t really like the soft rice that was drenched in orange gravy

For dessert, again, another local twist ( one of the blog I read said this was al-cheapo..haha..), sago with coconut meal, I thought the whipped cream on top of a pretty glob of sagu looked  pretty and appetizing ( well, I guess I am al-cheapo too ).  Initally, I only tasted the santan and thought the dessert taste rather bland, and only on the second scoop that I got to the gula melaka (palm sugar) which was rather blissful….

The service crew seemed to be fully foreign and we found the service was so-so.. Overall, I would say the meal was about average only  lah. Pastis Cafe is a pork free restaurant

Location :

KG-02, Ground Floor,
The Gardens,
Mid Valley City.
Tel : 03 2288 1559

Leave a Reply

