Sungai Besi Wan Tan Mee 新街場路全蛋面@ Sungai Besi

Posted: July 25, 2011 in @ Old Klang Road

My favourite quote for the week is Einstein’s  : ‘Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results’, I can relate to this when I am repeating the same angle of the catapult trying to kill ‘em pigs in a game of Angry Birds, I never knew that a game like this can carry such a subtle message..i guess as I progress in the game, i will have an higher IQ,  gain enlightenment, win a Nobel prize, find a cure for cancer and how to kill ‘em snorting pigs..

Ok, I will try not to say anything about Angry Birds in my next posting, it’s too addictive, I might have to attend ABA* if this goes on

Met up with L for dinner and I suggested we go to Sungai Besi Wan Tan Mee ( SBWTM) , my last trip to SBWTM was more than 3 years ago, and I thought it was about time we get reacquainted with SBWTM. To reach SBWTM is a trick if you are on the wrong side of the road, this will involve having to make a U-turn underneath the flyover, turn into the back lanes and then come out to the right side of the road. You can  park by the side of the road. There was a tiny road(  untarred ) beside the stall which served as a parking area but it was fully occupied so L drove further into the road and parked at the dead end next to a garage.

After we hobbled over to a table we were provided with the menu, the auntie who took our order looked kinda familiar, I think it was the same Auntie from my last visit,  L pointed at me and told Auntie ‘she is doing the ordering, and she love the food so much that she will be taking pictures of the food  too ‘, it was almost like a cue for me to find a telephone booth and change into the leather Bual Bual Kosong outfit complete with Bata shoes and a hat that could match or better Princess Beatrice of York’s headgear At SBWTM, there are a variety of  toppings to choose from to go with the noodles, which includes : chicken, roast duck, salted pig leg, stewed pork, dumpling, wan tan, char siew wan tan, chat siew, chicken leg, mushroom, mushroom with chicken leg or curry wild boar. There are three types of portions  : S, M or L, the prices range from RM4 – RM6I decided to go for char siew wan tan and L , a copycat -followed suit, we ordered some yong tau foo too ( RM1 /piece). After ordering I regretted I didn’t order the curry wild boar, I love wild boar, the texture, the taste..aiya..rugi only lahhh…and this was a way to get back at them big bully pigs too mah!

 Char siew wantan – i found the noodles a bit dry and sticky and had to spoon some soup into it, afterwhich I find the taste of the noodles to be a bit bland – I hope this was not caused by the dilution from the soup. the char siew lean yet tender but taste wise it was average, the wan tan was ok . I seemed to  recall from  previous visits the noodles were delicious but based on the noodles that I was served that day it was of the average quality that I can get at the food courts .  When I asked L what did he think of the noodles ,he said ‘ good’. so, maybe it was just me. And the place was fully packed too, so, maybe too many hours spent on Angry Birds had dulled my taste buds.. 

Yong tau foo : fish paste wrapped in  tofu, ladies fingers, chili , bean curd skin etc . The fish paste had a springy texture and L raved about the dip that came with the YTF. I guess the YTF were ok lah..I noticed that the was now a rojak stall at the vicinity too, anyone tried this ka ?

Business hours : Mon – Thurs : 7 pm  3 am,  Fri and Sat : 7 pm – 3:30 am, sun ; 6:30pm – 2:30 am

 Location :

190H, Jalan 2 1/2 Miles Sg. Besi,
Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03-9222 8177
 

*Angry Birds Anonymous

 

Leave a Reply

