Rak Thai @ Mid Valley

Posted: January 23, 2010 in @ Midvalley
Tags: , , , ,

Shopping is a tiring affair for the feet and the bank account. Don’t you hate the large crowds ? ( oh, you don’t ? then it’s just me, being antisocial). Don’t you hate those pretty young girls , with their killer heels,  oh wow, envy envy envy – (how can they walk for hours and hours without spraining their ankles ?) not a single strand of shiny healthy hair out of place,  makeup still flawless, perfect set of teeth..grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Think of  the long  queue at the cashiers,  the long queue at the washroom ,  the long queue at the changing room . ARrgggggggggggggggg!

Walking around the mall  (without killer heels or shiny healthy swaying hair) is a tiring affair.Oh, I said that earlier, I guess I need to emphasize the point and to justify having a break just one hour after lunch . I was in desperate need to rest my feet and to have a drink. And in the vicinity was Rak Thai, ah…..sawadeee kha

It was way past lunch hour, but the place was  pretty packed. The environment was good, very Thai-ish – with the Buddha statues , the Thai music, the Thai waiters /waitresses, the crowd savouring Thai food etc etc

 

There were also a variety of Thai sauces, noodles and whatnots for sale.

 

This was our tea break, so nothing too heavy, we ordered : Som tam, mango sticky rice, Tab tim grob and Lin Chi Kang ( oh yeah, nothing Thai about LCK, I just needed the sugar rush)

Som Tam /papaya salad (RM4.90) – this is usually prepared by pounding the following ingredients in a wooden mortar : green ( unriped) papaya shreds plus long beans, chili padi , onions, garlic, dried prawns  etc .

 

The dish was garnished with roasted peanuts . With a few  squeezes of lime and some special sauce / brew.The som tam that arrived at our table looked pretty enough but somehow lacked the ummph in the taste department. Spicy- checked , Sour- not sour enough, ,  Sweet-not sweet enough. Seemed like a watered down som tam to me.

 

 Lien Chi Kang (RM4.90 )- this was biasa lah . Tab tim grob ( RM5.90)- waterchestnut  with the ruby coloured skin thingy and jackfruit. I find that the santan ( coconut milk) gravy was not sweet enough to make this enjoyable for me. Or maybe Rak Thai support the Malaysian Government plea- that Malaysians are eating too much sugar ? the jackfruit weren’t too cooperative as well, the aroma of the sweet ripe jackfruit was seriously missed.

 

Mango sticky rice (RM4.90) – oh..come on, I really want to have something positive to write about the experience at Rak Thai. I guess the Mango sticky rice was the wrong choice and didn’t save the day. The sticky rice was an unattractive blob of white, it was tasteless and sticky ( the grains of rice seemed to have coagulate and fused into something else). And the mango wasn’t sweet. Drat !! [ if I have done some net search, I would have avoided the mango sticky rice , for most of the reviews for this wasn’t so great either]

 

Overall , a kinda disappointing tea break for me. But please don’t take my word for it. I read rave reviews from other blogs about the clear tom yam noodles and the other dishes (which we didn’t try ) that Rak Thai serves.

 Rak Thai

LG 232 A, The Gardens

Mid Valley City

Comments
  1. chong goh wee says:

    We have been to rak thai many many times. I am sorry to say I have to disagree with you. I find their som tum is as close as you can get from the better ones in thailand. Som Tum happened to be my favourite. I like their version because it is not sweet and som tum should be this. And it should not be sour either. The overall taste should be fresh with the fresh lime juice coming through.

    I agree their sticky rice is not the best. Sometimes it tend to be too soft and mushy and sometimes very very nice. I have spoken with the boss there. He told me sometimes when their delivery from thailand has not come they have to buy the malaysian pulut and our bernas add a lot of rice into it. When steamed, the padi bits make it soft and mushy.

  2. pegasuskl says:

    Hi Chong, thanks for dropping by , glad to hear that you enjoyed the food at Rak Thai ( and had better dining experience at Rak Thai than i did) . It’s ok to disagree with me 😀 . our taste buds have different likes and dislikes.

Leave a Reply

