Archive for October 8, 2008

Steven’s Corner @ OUG

Posted: October 8, 2008 in @ OUG
Tags: ,

What can I say about Steven’s Corner ? When I first heard of that name, I thought of steaks and chicken chops, and only  found out later that  it’s more like  teh tarik and tosai.

Steven’s Corner started since 1977 as a little mamak stall at the corner of the road  in OUG Garden, to find out more about Steven’s Corner and the history – you can visit their website : http://www.stevenscorner.com.my/

roti belum canai

roti belum canai

 We saw an empty table in a almost fully occupied shop and in order to get to my seat, I had to go around the table to the other side, as the family occupying the next table had their seats pushed back so far that I can’t get past to get to my seat ( why KL people so inconsiderate one, your bum so big meh ?) . One of the reason is that there is really not much space to move around.

The crowd seemed to be regular customers as they seemed so comfortable at the tables- one guy had both his feet up on the chair while wolfing his mee goreng and reading the papers, the diner at the other tables greeting the waiters like  old friends.

teh sudah tarik

teh sudah tarik

The roti kosong and the curry was normal, nothing to shout about. From wikipedia :

 The term “canai” derives either from:

  • Chennai, a city in India which is formerly known as Madras. Roti canai is presumed to have been introduced by immigrant labour from the Madras region where a similar combination of paratha and dalcha – the accompanying lentil curry – is served.
  • “Channa”, a mixture of boiled chickpeas  in a spicy gravy from Northern India which it was traditionally served with.

 

The roti tisu was wonderful, the insides of the cone was coated with sugar, making it crispy and sweet. I didn’t bother to dip the roti  into any of the 3 kuahs as they taste just fine au naturel . I think I could easily finish 5 ( or maybe 10) of those

 

The Tosai was average, what I would like to grouse about is the kuah dhall, it was not very good kuah, i think I can find  much better kuah at most mamak stall around town.

As a wrap up, from tasting the rotis and tosai ( not fair to evaluate the other food as I didn’t try them) , I would say that the quality of food is nothing I can’t find in the neighborhood mamak stalls lah.

Steven’s Corner,

18 & 18A Jalan Hujan Rahmat 2,

OUG Jalan Klang Lama,

58200 KL

Tel : 77819762

 location map http://www.stevenscorner.com.my/location-map.html