Chicken kapitan- Amy Beh

Posted: August 12, 2008 in Things To Do
Tags: , ,

I was at the (2nd installment) Amy Beh cooking show last sunday , held (again) at Armada Hotel, PJ. And for this show, Amy offered 3 recipes : Chicken Kapitan, Braised mutton soup and braised assorted myshroom. I particularly enjoyed the Chicken Kapitan, so thought that I will post the recipe here. I have taken the privilege to omitted the mention of the use of a  certain oil and steps that involved ‘baptizing’ all the ingredients with ozone –since unlike the show,  this site is not sponsored by any particular company lahh. The kuah goes exceptionally well with bread..yummmyyyyy

Chicken Kapitan

 

Ingredients:

 

1.5 kg chicken, chopped into bite pieces, marinate with 2 tbsp light soy sauce1 tsp salt

4 tbsp oil

2 onions, coarsely chopped

2 stalks lemon grass

2 cm galangal ( lengkuas)

4 pieces of limau purut leaves

35-ml thick coconut milk mixed with 300ml water

2-3 tbsp extra thick coconut milk

 

Ground spice (A)

15 fresh red chilies

10 dried chilies

15 shallots

4 cloves garlic

1 cm fresh tumeric root

4 candlenuts ( buah keras)

1 tbsp belacan stock granules

 

Seasoning

 

Juice of 1 -2 large limes

1-2 tsp salt or to taste

1 tsp chicken stock granules

Sugar to taste

 

Method

 

  1. heat oil in pot and fry oinions until soft, add ground spice (A) and lemon grass plus galangal.
  2. Add chicken and fry for a while. Pour in coconut milk and cook over low heat until chicken is tender
  3. Add extra thick coconut milk. When the curry comes to a boil, stir in seasoning and add limau purut leaves

The next class will be held on the 17th Aug at Sri Damansara Club at 2pm, for details and contact numbers, you can refer to Amy’s column in section 2 of The Star today ( 12th Aug) –we were offered tickets at RM20 for 2 pax during the show last Sunday , although  I am not sure what will be the charges for those that purchase the tickets from the registration counter on the 17th.

 

 

 

Comments
  1. FT Lim says:

    Dear,found your site when searching somewhere to publish the coming cook show info~~

    We are in Bukit Kiara Club this Saturday evening. Come and join us~may bring your friends who is Amy follower and cooking lover too~hehe!

    Call me @ 012-687 3347 if you need further assistance,Thanks!

  2. peggy cheah says:

    Hi Amy Beh

    I an a ardent fan of yours. I have been attending your cook show but lately I was busy and I have missed some of your cook show in P.J. and K.L.

    Can you believe it I have two files from A-Z for cooking and baking recipes which I have collected over the years. I have cut it out and pasted in a A4 size paper and file it up accordingly. I am making another two new files as the files for the first one was full.

    I have tried both cooking and baking and my family loves it.

    I have tried your pau recipe but I always failed in making the pau. The pau filling was okay and turn out delicious.

    I know there is a Vietnamese ready mixed flour for Pau. Outside the packet of the Pau,there is a Vietnamese wordings – BQT LAM BANH BAO SAIGON – BACHUONG VANG.

    Amy, do you know where to get this type of ready mixed flour in K.L.

    I have been searching for this type of flour since last year and also on Internet.

    Your assistant in this regard is very much appreciated.

    Thanks and regards

    Peggy

  3. pegasuskl says:

    Hi Peggy…thanks for dropping by, i am afraid that you have made a mistake, this is not Amy Beh’s blog. Maybe you can try writing to her at The Star ? as i have seen letters/ request being published on her weekly column.

    My 2 cents worth on Pau flour, i assume that you have tried those that are available at the supermarts ? i have been using these and the bread/pau and they turn out ok . Have you tried checking out the shops that sells baking stuff ?

  4. Frances goh says:

    Hi Amy, I am your fan and also enjoy cooking with your receipe. Do u have
    the receipe for Kapitam Curry Chicken bake in bread is the best I ever done and
    my guest loves it.

  5. pegasuskl says:

    Hi Frances, thanks for dropping by my humble blog. As per the previous message, this is not Amy Beh’s blog. You can try to contact her at The Star. From your note- you have the recipe for Kapitan Curry chicken baked in bread ? maybe you can share it here 😀

Leave a Reply

