Archive for June 29, 2008

 Ah Pheng  was visiting from Penang, considering that it was raining and to keep away from the jam in town , we decided not to venture too far but stay within  Old Klang Road and also due to cravings for the Asam fish ( just thinking about it makes me behave like the Pavlov drooling dogs) , we decided on Choon Sun.

 We ordered a potful of chrysantimum tea ( choice was limited as yours truly can’t sleep after drinking other teas)

 

We ordered the house special Tofu, this it taste more like fried fish paste than tofu that I have to constantly remind myself that it’s tofu, tofu and tofu lahh..and good tofu it was too withh lotsa fish paste.

 For vegetables, we went with stir fried sweet potato leaves, when it arrived, it looked unassuming and not too interesting , a blob of green with no visible garnishing, but looks are deceiving, it was good !

The Kam Heong La-la was a good choice, Ah Pheng find it a bit sweet but Chunny and myself had plenty of la-la shells on our plates…hey, less one competitor for the la la, no one is complaining !

 The star of the show, (and what most influence the choice to have our digestive juices toiled in this establishment and not others ) is the Asam fish. It came wrapped in a lotus leaf, and when the wrappings are uncovered, the fish almost seemed unidentifiable underneath the onions and the gravy. The taste was a perfect blend of  sour, sweet and  spicy. All 3 judges gave a near perfect score! Asam fish boleh ! Asam fish boleh!

 One other thing, if by any chance you wish to be re-acquainted with the Rukun Negara, or  want  to show off your patriotism over the Asam fish by reciting the Rukun Negara, do not fret, just reach for the nearest Premier tissue box..( BTW do they still have the Rukun Negara printed behind the exercise books ? what about the multiplication tables, are they still there ?)

 

Location : Jalan Anggur, Taman Desa.  If you are heading towards the OKR market this is the last junction before the turning into Taman Desa, a more prominent sign would be  Hup Hock Car Assesories and Service Centre which occupied the corner,  Choon Sun is immediately beside this. Across the road is a Hyundai showroom. Choon San only opens for dinner.

The bus ride

Posted: June 29, 2008 in Mumblings
Tags:

Between being more environmentally friendly and the rising petrol prices, I am trying  to make an effort to make more use of the public transport. With that in mind, I took the RapidKL for my trip to Brickfields last saturday, I estimated  a lead time of 1 hour, inclusive of  the wait and travel time, the bus came after about 20 minutes wait, the bus was not full and  I managed to get a seat.

 

There were 2 TV screens overhead and they worked ! One of the advert caught my fancy, it started in black and white, with a little boy in baju melayu on a swing and telling the audience that ,  when he is grown up, he wants to have a big car, with a chauffer,  big screen TV, bodyguards, lots of girlfriends. Fast forward to present day, on the screen was a big posh car, and beside it, our hero who is now an adult, but then the car was driven away.  A RapidKL bus came along, and our hero boarded the bus, so he did fulfill his dream- big car, a driver, big screen TV, bodyguards ( other passengers), girlfriends ( other ladies on the bus).

 

At the bus stand, waiting for the bus for the return trip, one have to bear with : the secondhand smoke-  from cigarettes and vehicles,  plenty of squinting- to make out the bus numbers, tired feet- I was on my feet for almost an hour, and be prepared with lots of patience and an umbrella.

 

The bus finally came, it was too crowded to go up at the front, I managed to squeeze my way to get on the bus, It was more packed than  a can of sardine but smelt as fishy. I didn’t even have anything to hold on to, not even the straps /rings above to hang on to, I was lucky that my hand could  reach the steel bars above, I held on to it for dear life. 2 primary school boys were standing beside me, with the tinier boy complaining to his taller companion that his hand is tired and sweaty holding on to the straps, his right hand was holding a big brown case, when asked what’s in his case, he said that it’s a musical instrument, when asked further he said it’s a trumpet

 

It was hard work  trying to retain my centre of gravity throughout the journey and like the little boy, my hands are tired , I wished I could just hold on to the Indonesian man in front of me instead. Almost 4 stops away from my stop, an  Indian man sitting close to where we were standing disembarked, I wasn’t considering to sit down and frankly was expecting the seat to be filled in a flash, but I  was surprised when no one fought  for  the seat and everyone that was standing and crowding around that region,  including the  little Chinese boys,  looked at me expectedly. The Indian man beside me almost barked the instruction ‘ duduk la ah moi, tak mau duduk ka ?’ and some Indonesians pointed at the seat in case I didn’t see it. It was a pleasant surprise, there is hope in humanity !  After claiming the throne I helped the little boy to carry his case to repay the good deed.

 

I got off my stop with an aching hand a warm fuzzy feeling..

 

Come to think of it, milk is such a weird ingredient  to add to a Chinese dish, don’t you think, not that I am an expert in Chinese cooking, but it just seemed odd.. I wonder who ever came up with this idea of adding milk into the soup ? must have happened by accident guar ? if this was the case, what would have happened if it was Ribena, or Kicapoo that ‘dropped’ into the soup ?

 

We were at Win Soon on Sunday at about 2pm, where you would expect the lunch crowd to be over, but even at that hour, it was still packed, we had to queue for about 5 minutes before we were shown to our table. The waitress came by and we place our orders, I am not in favour of milk in my soup and am watching my cholesterol level,  so I ordered the fishpaste + fish (RM6.80) and the others ordered fish paste + fish, other options include prawns noodles. On the menu, you have a choice of broad or thin of noodles, but we were told that only the thin noodles were available    . The interior of the eatery is  airconditioned,  dimly lit and  cozy , bamboo shades at the sides were lowered to keep out the sun.

 

With the big crowd, you will  expect a long wait and frankly it was not a short wait.  it was  almost 20 minutes when the noodles arrived.

 

We find the servings of fish paste and fish in the noodles to be generous. The fish paste texture was just  right and the fish were fresh. I am happy with my soup but the others who ordered the soup with milk commented that it was a wee bit sweet and camouflaged  the original taste of the soup

 

 

 

After devouring the noodles, we found that we were all sweaty regardless of the aircon, well, I don’t mind to sweat for food..

 

Location: From Old Klang Road, turn into Kuchai Lama, and head towards the DBKL office at Kuchai Lama, go pass DBKL until you reach the end of the office blocks then make a right and on immediately on your left you will see the shop which is the corner lot . Address : Jalan Kuchai Maju 9, off Jalan Kuchai Lama. It’s open from 9 am to 10 pm